Try It Tuesdays: My Week 1 Entries

Ok, so what if I started Try it Tuesdays? I can still play can’t I?

Though I won’t be eligible for the prizes (hmmph!) .. I still look forward to all the new techniques that I can experiment with and incorporate into my art.

 Try It Tuesdays Week 1 Mosaic

This week’s technique is an Easy, Acrylic Background Technique by The Fabulous Altered Diva, Karyn Gartel .. Here’s what I came up with when I embarked on this fun journey!

 I’m rushing here today.. so don’t have time to elaborate, or clarify as much I’d like to… I’ll edit this post if/when I get a chance, so feel free to leave a comment if you have any questions!

 Try It Tuesdays Week 1 - 1

# 1. Paint Colors Used: Yellow, Barn Red, Ivy Green
8″ x 10″ Canvas Panel
I wasn’t happy with this one until the stamping.. I didn’t like how my brushed edges had turned out so defined.. I was using good brushes, cause I couldn’t find a crappy one… I didn’t mist it, I held the spray close to the canvas, and sprayed it…then gently soaked up some of the excess water, let it sit for 5 minutes.. then I wiped away some of the heavier areas. I used all 3 washes over the gesso stamping, then blotted off lightly. It ended up with a batik feel to it. In the end, I wish I had added less water to the darkest color of paint.

Try It Tuesdays Week 1 - 2

# 2. Paint Colors Used: Yellow, Ivy Green, Barn Red
4″ x 4″ Canvas panel
On this one, I blotted up the excess paint vs. wiping it .. I preferred this method.. the paper towels I used, leave a neat, subtle texture. I left some of the brush stokes, and added more paint in that step as well. I used 2 of the color washes over the gesso stamping. It kinda has that old world door feel to me. Not nuts on my edging again…will correct this when i complete it as a finished piece.

 Try It Tuesdays Week 1 - 3

# 3. Paint Colors Used: Yellow, Lime Green, Ivy Green
8″ x 8″ Canvas Panel
On this one, I love the colors  together.. I prefer the more monochromatic look I think .. it seems to have a bit more depth to it. I blotted up with a textured paper towel on the 3rd step .. when I sprayed it, I used a heavy mist.. and it basically just puddled up .. so blotting some of the excess water, helped achieve the water stained “magic” look. A lighter mist, may have been more successful.. The yellow wash was used over the gesso stamping, then lightly wiped away in spots.

 Try It Tuesdays Week 1 - 4

# 4. Paint Colors Used: Yellow, Williamsburg Blue, Ivy Green
8″ x 8″ Canvas Panel
Again, I don’t like how I did the edges.. I may try this technique again tomorrow, and do this step differently. But, i think the stamping helped to blend that part. I applied the water spray part twice to this piece.. soaked up some vs. wiping away .. and then used the heat gun.. i really like how the heat gun moves the wash around.. that’s something I’ll definitely start using frequently in my work. Over the gesso.. I just lightly, and randomly applied the yellow wash.

 Try It Tuesdays Week 1 - 5

# 5. Paint Colors Used: Yellow, Williamsburg Blue, Ivy Green, Barn Red
140lb. Watercolor Paper Journal Page
I really wanted to just use up my washes, and experiment on more on this one.. I didn’t gesso the page at all.. and the paint did soak in too much, and too quickly to really apply the technique the proper way.. I do like the addition of another color.. and can see myself using the base technique with more colors on a regular basis. At the end.. I smooshed the different color washes throughout the page, and it gave it a softer feel.

All in all.. I LOVED this background technique (Thanks Karyn!) .. I learned a few lessons (water amounts, how to wipe up the paint effectively, softer edges) .. and have a zillion ideas of ways to utilize this and personalize it.. I’m going to try it over old text, and other collage methods as well. I’ll update y’all once I finish these into a piece of altered art!

To see the work others have done based on this technique, visit the Try it Tuesdays Flickr Group!

Happy Creating! – Chrysti

13 Responses

  1. I love the colors you’ve used!

  2. I love this challenge Chrysti and I learned alot. I love your explanation here as well, with all the various pictures. It actually answered some questions I had while I was doing it (regarding the stamping). I really liked doing this and the look after the process. fun fun. thanks again!

  3. Thanks so much y’all.. im so glad everyone is enjoying it too :-)

  4. I want to participate in TIT (don’t you love that? :) but won’t do it until I have a littel more free time. Meantime, I’ll enjoy the posts and watching it evolve. It’s a great idea.

  5. he he.,. TIT! Now advertising it that way, oughta bring in tons of folks huh?

    Thanks so much for stopping by!

  6. […] In case you missed it, you can see more of what I did with this technique in this blog entry and see what others have done as well by clicking here. […]

  7. This is seriously inspiring!

  8. Thanks!!!

  9. I just love your blog. The colours you use are beautiful. I am considering joining TIT too if I may? Maybe it will make me try lots of new techniques.

  10. Thanks so very much! And YES! Come join in! Everone is welcome!

  11. I just love the design’s and colours of your techniques, l am a textile artist in the uk and a lot of my new ideas have crossed over from mixed media.
    Sometimes l wonder who l am as l do paper art and fabric and teach on line and have three websites, no wonder l am writing to you as l just love what you do and its goiving me time before l start a hanging for starbucks.
    Do you ever get like this, just can’t start but when you do you can’t stop.
    Bye for now, will visit again,
    Jill

  12. Thank You so much!

  13. Are you using a blow dryer or some other type of heat gun? Thanks

Leave a Reply

