Artwords: Balance

“People with great gifts are easy to find, but symmetrical and balanced ones never.”
Ralph Waldo Emerson

Well, didn’t this work out perfectly! One of the Try it Tuesdays backgrounds I created, worked out perfectly for this week’s Artwords theme: Balance! But first … (always) .. a word from our sponsors errr me .. ok, so i’m lame.. sue me!

Balance

 1. Danja Mathari, Summer Spirited, 2. Against Gravity Rule
3. A Leap of Faith, 4. Buddha dog

“Fortunate, indeed, is the man who takes exactly the right measure of himself and holds a just balance between what he can acquire and what he can use.
Peter Latham

Anyone who knows me well, will tell you my mind never stops running, processing ideas, solving problems, hashing over this & that … I truly do possess An Unquiet Mind.  It’s a trait, I’ve always thought was ‘normal’… but the older I get, the more I realize just how untrue this is. Balance, is a topic that is continually on my mind…

.. Is it possible .. how to find it .. oh, how I crave itwill the scales always be tipped .. should I do this .. should I change that .. what if.. I can’t handle things... need a gripis this out of whack..

Is it possible I spend more time thinking about how to create balance within my life, then I do at actively making it happen? Between my work, my hobbies, my personal life, my health, fun and of course my obligations.. I just can’t seem to find a way to balance it all. No matter how hard I try, how close I feel to achieving it, there’s always that ‘something‘ that seems to interfere. Perhaps, true balance.. is accepting this?

“Happiness is not a matter of intensity but of balance and order and rhythm and harmony.”
Thomas Merton

A Balancing Act

“A Balancing Act”
Done on 140lb Watercolor Paper, In my Visual Art Journal
OOAK (One of a Kind) Mixed Media Artwork
by Raleigh, NC Outsider Artist Chrysti

Everything about this piece is symbolic.
Brief meanings below..

  • The use of my Try it Tuesdays background representing both the toll, and the extreme joy from my newest venture. Throwing this project into my array of activities .. has tipped those scales even further.. something I’m struggling to get a grasp on, but do not regret in the least.

  • The men at the top, symbolic of all the different things I have going on in my life, how they are each so different, yet so very much the same.

  • Use of the torn vintage dictionary piece expresses not only how torn, aged & worn I feel .. but my constant thirst for knowledge. The clothespin a sign of how I tend to feel very ‘pinched’ for time in this area.

  • Notice, there is 1 bird, 1 girl, 1 tree, 1 dog .. a visual of how I feel isolated in my struggles for balance, surrounded by people, yet continually alone.

  • The Caged Bird w/ his head peeking out, is pretty much self explanatory. I do tend to feel ‘caged’ .. but not completely, it’s as if I can stick my head out the door.. but never get much further. Wings that haven’t flown.

  • The ever so sweet, and sad puppy is two-fold. He represents not only myself and the sadness I carry, so wanting to find the perfect balance.. that ‘come on already‘ look is very much I feel trying to obtain this. He also has a more literal interpretation .. these darling animals that have unconditional love, and patience with me.. but at the end of the day, I always feel as if I haven’t given them enough. Yet, another area of my life I need to balance properly.

Even the additional elements, all pertain to the strong yearning for balance I have… but I won’t bore you now .. besides.. writing this has yet again tipped those perpetual scales of balance.. and it’s on to the next activity.. Does it ever end?

“I always try to balance the light with the heavy — a few tears of human spirit in with the sequins and the fringes.”
– Bette Midler

Ahh ..time for me to move on to the ‘sequins & fringes’! — Chrysti

7 Responses

  1. Hi Chrysti-
    Interesting you posted about this. I’ve been thinking a lot about how I tend to have a zillion irons in the fire. You know, many artsy projects going at once, family, general life obligations. I’ve come to the conclusion in the last couple of days that, i do it purposely, i think. When stress gets high, i start adding even more things. Why? Diversion, i think. It keeps me from dealing with the stressful things, gives me something else to center on. NOw, is that good or bad? I dunno…..both i guess.

    Ok, i’m rambling now, LOL….anyway, it was kind of a revelation to me to realize this.

    ~Robyn

  2. Yes interesting….I’m not sure what balance even is ….if I found it…would I know what it is??….My mind never sleeps…even though I close my eyes and drift off…it is continually waking me with an idea, worry…what not….at times I wish there were an off switch lol….I never concentrate on one thing entirely…ok this is moving to another topic LOL ….maybe balance is a little bit of everything we love and everything we don’t so much ..and just accepting the not so good stuff in life…just as is…and moving on…I think there just might be a balance there…..does that make sense?

  3. This is wonderful Chrysti, very thought-provoking. I do wonder if all creative people struggle with finding a balance, at any rate I think it’s a constant quest.

  4. Very insiteful post! I have an ever wandering mind as well. I find that I get crabby when I don’t have the energy to let it wander…(tired, hungry, etc.)
    I think sometimes I load my plate with projects to soothe my mind…so it has lots of things to keep track of, otherwise it is bored and thinks about the things that upset me.
    Sorry to ramble…but I really like your post.
    Joy

  5. It is a topic i think most of us could go on & on about.. i love hearing everyone’s different reactions, and insights… thanks so much for sharing too y’all!

  6. Balance… is it overrated? As a creative person, would balance perhaps mean bland, contrived, predictable? I do not know! Maybe we are the chaos that keeps the universe in balance! (And I shall trademark that ROTFOLOLOLOLOLOL!)

  7. hi, just wanted to send you a note that my beloved “buddha dog” lost his battle with cancer on october 22. he was a good boy. and i’m so lonely without him.

Leave a Reply

