Self Discovery, Art for Sale & Grief

“What happens to a man is less significant than what happens within him”.
Louis L. Mann

I often find myself stopping, taking in a deep breath, and looking at a moment or a timeframe that has just passed in sheer wonder. Self-Discovery is amazing, unexplainable thing. We set out to perform a task, a seemingly ordinary one at that… and find that we landed at a destination we never knew existed. I believe, it’s what you do with that new realization that matters.

“What lies behind us and what lies before us are small matters compared to what lies within us”.
~ Emerson

I set out these last few days, to create art, purely for the purpose of selling it.. to raise the much needed medical funds my health (and sanity!) requires… While I accomplished a few finished pieces, what I gained was worth so much more. Once I let go of the “will it or won’t it sell“….”is this good enough” and all the other pebbles of negativity our inner critic throws at us… I just let go.. immersing myself in the creative process, and loving every moment of it. Though I was alone, I found that I was surrounded by warm memories of loved ones who have passed… Countless hours went by, and I emerged stronger. Discoveries, that for at least today I’m treasuring… and keeping to myself. Who better to share a secret with?

“The greatest oak was once a little nut who held its ground”
~Author Unknown

Here’s a few of the ACEO’s that I’ve created during that time… click the photo to see them larger, click the text beneath them to take you to their sale page. Whether you purchase any or not, I sincerely appreciate the look, and feedback on the pieces. And of course, I appreciate any bids as well!

 Behold The Rarest Beauty

Behold The Rarest Beauty – For Sale
One of a Kind Collectible Art Card (ACEO)
2.5″ x 3.5″
by Raleigh, NC Outsider Artist Chrysti

 Song of Wings

Song of Wings – For Sale
One of a Kind Collectible Art Card (ACEO)
2.5″ x 3.5″
by Raleigh, NC Outsider Artist Chrysti

 Wishin'

Wishin’ – For Sale
One of a Kind Collectible Art Card (ACEO)
2.5″ x 3.5″
by Raleigh, NC Outsider Artist Chrysti

“When you are sorrowful look again in your heart, and you shall see that in truth you are weeping for that which has been your delight.”
~Kahlil Gibran

 Her Time To Fly

“Her Time To Fly”
One of a Kind Art Squared Piece on Canvas Board
4″ x 4″
by Raleigh, NC Outsider Artist Chrysti

That sweet, sweet child was my grandmother .. we believe she was around 2.5 years old when it was taken. I look at that, and I see her eyes .. a lil bit fearful, yet so full of hope too. She had no idea then, that her entire life would be like that as well. The trials she endured — amaze me. I respect her more then words could ever speak… and above all else, I miss her. I miss her dearly.. But alas, it was her time to fly.

“Death is not the greatest loss in life. The greatest loss is what dies inside us while we live.”
~Norman Cousins

Until tomorrow – Chrysti

9 Responses

  1. Great work Chrysti…you put your heart and soul into these pieces….no one is ever that far away that you cant whisper to them a hello…when we hold all their memories in our minds and hearts…those people we cherish stay with us…Much Love to your darlin’….maybe my grandma is sitting with her teaching her to play pinocle… she could never get it thru my head how it was played lol..hehe…I was more interested in watching her quilt and me sifting thru her button collection.

  2. I agree with what Nancy said about your work.

    You are truly a great artist…let no one tell you that your work is not beautiful…

    It is so in every sense of the word.

    -Zack

  3. Lovely work Chrysti! Lori

  4. Thanks so much y’all…

    Nanc, i do put alot of “myself” into my work…it’s rare i create something with no meaning… though i’m itching to do some humor pieces again… iu think i might! let’s hope i can make this a good fundraiser!

  5. Over here cheering you on girl! If there is some sort of way I can help let me know….I dont have any funds(ramen noodles kind of week lol)…but if you can think of anything I will help any way I can….

  6. Chrysti your work is beautiful – and the way that you write as well. I love coming on here for a look and to read what you’ve said. Fingers crossed for you and hoping that you do well. x

  7. Chrysti your pieces of art above are full of energy and love but they also have a peace about them. Your way with words also touches those who read what you write. I do so hope they sell well for you, if I had the finiances I would buy them all. Good luck m’darlin and am remembering you in my prayers. Hugs Judy x

  8. Ha Nanc! You do help… all the time..you are a constant source of inspiration to me…which means more to me then any amount of money does…

    Thanks so much Mab!

    Judy — i second what i said to nancy… y’all rock…i’m grateful to be getting to know you!

  9. Oooh…I just went to check out your pieces and I see they’ve been removed. I hope that’s because they sold already!! I love what you did with your grandmothers picture. What a sweet way to remember her!

Leave a Reply

