My Newest Collages! New Giveaway!

 Hugs & Kisses

Hugs & Kisses – For Sale Here!
One of a Kind Collectible Art Card (ACEO)
2.5″ x 3.5″
by Raleigh, NC Altered Artist Chrysti

“Life beats down and crushes the soul and art reminds you that you have one.”
~Stella Adler

As many of you know… I have been steadily working hard finishing artworks that I started months ago, in an effort to raise some much needed funds for my upcoming surgery in addition to paying off some of the medical bills I’ve accrued this year. I have numerous, archived blog entries that drone on & on about it if you are bored!

 Lovey Dovey

Lovey Dovey – For Sale Here!
One of a Kind Collectible Art Card (ACEO)
2.5″ x 3.5″
by Raleigh, NC Mixed Media Artist Chrysti

“No great artist ever sees things as they really are. If he did, he would cease to be an artist.”
~Oscar Wilde

I haven’t been as diligent at promoting my new art here.. so there’s quite a few new ones to add today! As always, the photo takes you to a larger picture, and the text takes you to it’s place for sale. All will open in new windows.

 Never Give Up

Never Give Up – For Sale Here!
One of a Kind Collectible Art Card (ACEO)
2.5″ x 3.5″
by Raleigh, NC Altered Artist Chrysti

“People often say that this or that person has not yet found himself. But the self is not something one finds, it is something one creates. “
~Thomas Szasz

I forgot just how much I enjoy creating these smaller works of art, I had been so focused on larger pieces recently, I lost sight of these tiny treasures. What a fun adventure it has been re-discovering them! I owe that, to each of you – your continued support keeps me motivated.. and each card purchased, gets me one step closer to my goal. So, once again, Thank You.

 Share Joy

Share Joy – For Sale Here!
One of a Kind Collectible Art Card (ACEO)
2.5″ x 3.5″
by Raleigh, NC Altered Artist Chrysti

“The world today doesn’t make sense, so why should I paint pictures that do?”
~Pablo Picasso

I welcome ideas, themes, quotes, colors, images etc.. that you’d like to see in a batch of these collage art cards. It is a challenge for me to work off instructions.. and as I’ll eventually take commissions… the challenge is one I’d like to conquer.

 Sweet Baby Girl

Sweet Baby Girl – For Sale Here!
One of a Kind Collectible Art Card (ACEO)
2.5″ x 3.5″
by Raleigh, NC Altered Artist Chrysti

Which leads me to today’s giveaway… the first 5 people to comment with ideas they’d like to see in an ACEO of mine, will receive an envelope full of ATC’s I have cleaned out of my personal collection.

 Never Give Up

Precious – For Sale Here!
One of a Kind Collectible Art Card (ACEO)
2.5″ x 3.5″
by Raleigh, NC Altered Artist Chrysti

“I know well what I am fleeing from but not what I am in search of.”
~Michel de Montaigne

Speaking of cleaning out, the mass art studio/craft room clean-up I’ve begun is still moving full speed ahead. I want to clean out the things I have, before bringing in new furniture, and supplies. Sorting through all the things I’ve accumulated is inspiring within it’s own right.. I keep stumbling on bits & pieces that are perfect to add to a collage in progress! Not only do I get to create, clean out supplies, use what I have, but I am slowly knocking down the huge stack of pieces I started – but never finished. Something I’m notorious for!

 She Says, He Says

She Says, He Says – For Sale Here!
One of a Kind Collectible Art Card (ACEO)
2.5″ x 3.5″
by Raleigh, NC Mixed Media Artist Chrysti

Today’s Creating Art Cards (Artist Trading Cards, ATC’s, ACEO’s) Tip!

Whether it’s old text, or a saying you print.. there’s just something about text slapped on a piece, that seems unfinished to me. Occasionally, it suits a piece.. but in my opinion, it typically sticks out like a sore thumb.

 Love You

Love You – For Sale Here!
One of a Kind Collectible Art Card (ACEO)
2.5″ x 3.5″
by Raleigh, NC Mixed Media Artist Chrysti

Why not try incorporating it into your piece? Make the text a complete part of it.

Color it with inks, or watercolor.. ink the edges.. draw around it.. add shadows, walnut ink splatters.. Use water soluble crayons, or pastels to outline onto it and your base.. rub a thin coat of antiquing gel over the entire piece.. There are soooo many ways you can do this. These are just a few suggestions to get you started. It’s a small, extra step that goes a long, long way.

 Sealed With a Kiss

Sealed With a Kiss – For Sale Here!
One of a Kind Collectible Art Card (ACEO)
2.5″ x 3.5″
by Raleigh, NC Altered Artist Chrysti

“An artist cannot fail; it is a success to be one.”
~Charles Horton Cooley

Now go, Succeed! – Chrysti

 Dream of Flight -1

 Dream of Flight -1a

Dream of Flight – For Sale Here!
One of a Kind Art Squared Piece
4″ x 4″
by Raleigh, NC Outsider Artist Chrysti

9 Responses

  1. Hi Chrysti, well I’ve just looked though all your art and its all so gorgeous – theres a definate theme and colour scheme going on and I dont think you should change that at all – its a brilliant ‘recipe’ , all the amazing backgrounds and the fabulous collage bits and pieces you add on, however I would like to set you a challenge to use brights and zingy colours and no ‘antique’ images, just to have a play with and see what happens. I’ve been trying to get away from my purples and greens in both my art work and my sewing and its quite liberating for me. All the best m’darling and I hope that everything works out for you very soon, take care and lots of healing love and hugs zooming across the atlantic. Judy x

  2. I just want to comment …although I would like some of your wonderful art….I would much rather trade…if thats good for you ? You have done so much for me that a trade seems more pleasing …if thats ok :) I love all your lovely works here…Your so amazing!!! And I definately love Picasso’s quote that you posted…sounds like something I would say LOL….about the text thingy…Your talking about me arentcha LOL hehe….Although you are right my text does look kinda blahhhhh…..I have a few things here that might spice it up a bit….Thank you for the tips….After what you said I should challenge myself more too…I agree with Judy..something zany and wild bright colors hehehehe…Dont forget the polka dots lol jk…Think about a trade ! The best to you and love and hugs! NancyB

  3. So you want ideas, do you? I’m not very good at those lately, especially since I keep coming back to really general ideas rather than anything specific, and also because you seem to be so good at providing ideas – that’s why I’m reading your blog.

    I agree with Judy Scott that you seem to use a lot of ‘antique’ images. Maybe working with color images or photos would be fun? Likewise, a lot of your work makes me think about the past – I don’t know what specific themes would connote present or future, but I’d like to see them.

  4. Oh gosh, I wouldn’t change a thing! Your art is so beautiful!

    I know what it’s like to seek inspiration or direction, though…..Well, I can tell you what I like about your work and what elements I’m generally attracted to…..

    I like:
    -swirls
    -flowers
    -butterflies
    -birds
    -animals
    -happy and uplifting themes
    -Victorian and Vintage images
    -things that look hand-crafted, where you can see the texture of the paint

    Does that help at all?

    I’ll keep thinking about it, let you know if I have any more ideas
    :_

  5. Wow, I like everything about your art; the colors, the themes, the shapes, the vintage victorian… How could i ask you to change, although i guess it is good for all of us to get out of our comfort zone.. how about using lots of sunshiny bright yellow? I have learned to love yellow as it is not a color i have used much… maybe some metallic colors? I have lots of metallic rubs and am always meaning to use them and forget them.. This is something I want to do but do not seem to be able to do it… more minimalism.. It is like i think all the blank space on a piece should have something on it… but in actuality the blank space can be good… i don’t know, i just know i love your stuff.. Hugs, Ruth

  6. hey chrysti!

    your stuff is always so amazing!

    on another note, will you contact me privately?
    thanks and
    peace,
    jen

  7. Chrysti…had to come by to enjoy some eye candy today. Everything is beautiful as always…i love it. You are probably tired of me saying this….your pieces are so inspirational and just gives me a warm happy feeling to see everything you create. Have a great day!

  8. Keep making your wonderful work!! I got a great stamp that says ‘art saves lives” Well your art I am sure has saved you during your times of ill health I know it has for me. I say keep on making art the way you do I know each of your pieces inspire me to push myself to limits!
    Hugs
    Thumpa

  9. I am somewhat new to flickr. I’ve seen quite a bit of art , but I find myself always coming back to yours. It is all beautiful! Every element you add makes it come together perfectly. I just joined “try it tuesdays” in hopes of winning some cool stuff. I hope sometime in the near future we’ll be able to do an art trade. Your art is definitely something I’d love to have hanging on my living room wall. Best Wishes. Jennifer :D

Leave a Reply

