Projects In Progress & Ramblings

 “Imagination gallops; judgment merely walks”

With all the commotion and reorganizing happening in my life recently, somehow it slipped my mind to post my results for an older Try It Tuesdays Week 4  Torn Paper Backgrounds (I may be a bit late eh?). Nancy did a fabulous job with the tutorial.

Nothing overly spectacular, but I was still pretty pleased with the results.. I tried my hand at altering a CD, and a box. Take a look here…

 Try It Tuesdays - Torn Paper Backgrounds- Altered Box

 Try It Tuesdays - Torn Paper Backgrounds- Altered Box

 Try It Tuesdays - Torn Paper Backgrounds - Altered CD

 Try It Tuesdays - Torn Paper Backgrounds - Altered CD

“It is better to have enough ideas for some of them to be wrong, than to be always right by having no ideas at all.”
~Edward de Bono

Another project I have in progress is this Altered Binder, to store my ATC and ACEO collection. I started off absolutely loving it, but have since royally messed up the inside cover… grrr.

 Altered Binder - Work In Progress - Cover

 Oh Well, It still beats the worn down plain white binder I had. When it’s complete, I’ll show you the rest, and just how I managed to make a mess of the inside!

 Altered Binder - Work In Progress - Inside Front Cover

 Altered Binder - Inside Back Cover

However, having a prettier way to store these.. caused me to actually be excited about my collection again. I’ve cleaned it out, and thinned it down a bit as I plan on trying to keep it just to this one album, and other various displays I have.. which one day I’ll share.

 Altered Binder - Work In Progress - Back Cover

 Altered Binder - Work In Progress - Spine

“Creativity comes from trust. Trust your instincts. And never hope more than you work.”
~Rita Mae Brown

In yet another creative venture … Chel started a new group on E-bay, for artists who run E-bay stores, and I was honored that she asked me to help moderate it. One of the activities going on is a logo contest for this fab new group. I had so much fun playing with digital collage again, and if this doesn’t win (it’s up against some gorgeous entries!), I will probably use a variation of it for one of my ventures. At any rate, here’s what I came up with..

 Art in Store Logo Entry 2

 Art in Store Logo Entry 1

I used Paint Shop Pro, and altered an image from one of Paper Relics CD’s. Hope is one of the nicest people to work with, her products are amazing.. of the highest quality.. and her customer service is phenomenal. She was even kind enough to give me a free CD for my birthday when I ordered the other 2 .. You have noooooo idea how much I needed that little pick me up then. Truly, I can’t recommend shopping with her enough. Run on over and check out her amazing store. Trust me, you’ll walk away inspired.

 “One of the advantages of being disorderly is that one is constantly making exciting discoveries.”
~A. A. Milne

My ‘Holiday’ weekend, has been pretty much of the same.. cleaning out, reorganizing my art studio, my store, listing new items, packing & shipping orders, revamping Try It Tuesdays and so on. Emails have been piling up and I need to knock em out soon. It’s difficult with my hand tics, how sore my wrist/fingers get and how my tendons swell as a result of being on the computer so much.

Basically a plethora of boring stuff, but as I’ve mentioned previously, necessary evils. Life won’t be much fun until I complete all this, but when I do, lookout world! In the meantime, can someone send me help, or gimme a few extra hours per day?

Better yet? A remote with a ‘pause the rest of the world on it‘.. how amazing would that be? Simply hit pause, take the time you need to catch up.. then Bam! Hit play, and live life as normal! I think I’m onto something here.

“You wait for a gem in an endless sea of blah.”
~Lawrence Grossman
Sorry for such a blah post.. but it’s one of those days, where it’s difficult to have much enthusiasm about anything.. I’m not down, just not up either. Somewhere in between the 2 I suppose. I haven’t been in the art studio for a few days, so I’m thinking.. that may be partially why. It’s amazing, the difference in my moods when I get a lil art time.

Well, enough of that, It’s time to grab lunch, then work on announcing the Try It Tuesday Winner :-) Hope you’re all having a fabulous Monday!

Chrysti

8 Responses

  1. OOOOOH! I love what you did with the technique!! You are just so fabulous! The ACEO atc binder is coming along nicely! I love it…drool over it hehe…the good thing about altered arts is you can alter what you dont like about it lol….I love that group…everyone is just silly! lol…I have gotten the hang of where to go in that group but still have no clue what I am doing when I go into ZNE lol…both your logos are the bomb baby….I am a beginner at that sort of thing…I posted mine in that group and also made my lil banner in eBay! I hope you find art time! I know it helped me feel a lil better about my day! Much love and hugs darling…and thanks for the invite!

  2. Hi Chrysti! Love the logos! Hope you win! I wanted to thank you for the tip about finishing the edges on ATC’s,etc. I’ve been doing it religously since you posted that tip and it’s amazing how such a little thing makes such a big difference! You asked a while ago what tips we’d like to see and well, I have one for you. More like advice than a tip but I’d like to know what you consider the essential supplies. You know, if you were on a deserted island what few supplies would you absolutely *have* to take with you?

  3. This stuff is soooooooooo cool.

    Another great Chrysti post.

    -Zack

  4. What a beautiful binder! I hope your logo wins.

    And if you ever find a remote that’ll pause the rest of the world, let me know, because I’d like one too.

  5. Lovely binder there Chrysti! That logo is great too :D

  6. Hi there, just found you from a link on a fellow bloggers art site and love your work. Also want to really sit down and read your post as this hits REALLY close to home for me. I hear you and empathize….I really do. I’m in Charlotte – haven’t been to Raleigh yet. Are there good art outlets there? Gonna go check out more now, but in the meanwhile…keep the faith and just do the best you can. It will be enough as it is.

  7. I was looking over some of your past posts and the image you made for the new ebay group caught my eye – and when I tooka closer look there was stuff about me and my shop! You are so sweet! I am so glad that you are doing well with the cds you ordered!

    I am also very excited to hear you are opening up shop sans ebay! You will have fun making the site I bet – yours always look so great and you can do much more than you could with the ebay layout!

    Hope all is well!!

  8. Wow, nice altered binder! The inside cover doesn’t matter, the outside is beautiful. I also have just tried altering a binder, not as detailed as yours though. I have posted mine on my blog if you wanna see what I mean.

    Coleen

    http://www.snipitsofme.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

