Life’s Simple Lessons

“Heavy hearts, like heavy clouds in the sky, are best relieved by the letting of a little water.”
~Antoine Rivarol

If someone would have ever told me, I’d be sitting here blogging about a celebrity’s untimely passing .. well, to say I would have scoffed at the remark is an understatement. Yet, now I find myself deeply touched and moved enough by the Steve Irwin Memorial Service that Animal Planet aired .. to do exactly that.

 
Steve Irwin 1962-2006
Originally uploaded by gira.

“Some people are so afraid to die that they never begin to live.”
~
Henry Van Dyke

Isn’t it odd, how the very thing that hurts, scares, and touches us so deeply .. is the only certainty we have in this life? Yes, I’m talking about death.

So much has been recently aired, talking about Steve’s life.. and though, I could comment, and talk about my gratitude to him as well.. I just wanted to share 2 almost simple thoughts with you today that struck me while watching the service.

 
Steve Irwin
Originally uploaded by Bella Of Bacardi.

 “While we try to teach our children all about life, our children teach us what life is all about.”

His absolutely adorable.. wise beyond her years daughter Bindi… really hit a chord with me.. her smiles as his clips played, the hint of sadness and confusion in her eyes at other times .. but most importantly her enthusiasm .. still showed. She looked proud when they spoke of her father, almost giggling at clips .. her father’s death didn’t take away her life or her passion for it.. like most children, she seems to have the ability to be sad.. but to live.. really live.. a lesson most of us adults, could stand to learn. When she spoke, and talked of her daddy .. it was a heartbreaking moment, yet her confidence, her pride, her spirit, her bright smile .. were all in tact .. and contagious at that.

 Children really do have a way, of showing us the basic yet oh-so-important things we lose sight of.

 
Steve Irwin ='(

Originally uploaded by §hoooo§hat●Qt®.

“It’s not who you are that holds you back, it’s who you think you’re not.”

Now, when Kevin Costner’s taped piece aired .. I was particularly struck by one of his statements.. he talked about the fearlessness Steve Irwin seemed to have.. Yes, his courage, and passion with dangerous animals.. but more importantly, his fearlessness in showing the world his true self.. his true spirit… he was unafraid, to just be who he was. Costner continued, saying how when we show the world who we are, we open ourselves up to ridicule, but Steve Irwin didn’t care about that .. he saw the larger picture.. and went for it.

Think about it.. really think about it..

How many of us, can honestly say we show the world who we truly are consistently?
How many of us truly live our lives with true passion, and with minimal fear?

We are drawn to those who do. We find their enthusiasm contagious, the greatest accomplishments have arisen from it … but still .. most of us.. well.. we hold back. Why? It’s something I find myself contemplating today.

 
Heart
Originally uploaded by Beefus.

“To understand the heart and mind of a person, look not at what he has already achieved, but at what he aspires to.”
~Kahlil Gibran
Memorials & funerals are such a blatant reminder of how we should live. The greatest life lessons can be seen through each tear, each story, each person… and they are often, simply small reminders of what we already know.

“If you really put a small value upon yourself, rest assured that the world will not raise your price.”

Once again, I find myself inspired, to continue finding my passions, to try and live them .. to learn to let go of fear. To live, with heart. To value myself, and honor my own life — while I’m alive.  How about you?

“Wheresoever you go, go with all your heart.”
~Confucius

 Chrysti

10 Responses

  1. Beautiful post and moving tribute.

  2. Chrysti…this is a beautiful post and couldn’t have said it better. I also watched the tribute on tv and was so amazed by Bindi. When I first heard about what happened I was absolutely stunned. I even kept checking back a week later to make sure that is was still true…just so hard to believe. Thank you for this post, your thoughtful words and the beautiful quotes.

  3. thank you so much for this utterly beautiful, insighTfuL post….. this is exactly what I needed to hear today.

  4. Beautiful post Chrysti! Yes he will be missed by many..he was one amazing guy! He had no fears of life and that was what touched us all. There is no greater challenge than just being yourself! I find it hard to be myself sometimes without outside sources but I do it anyways..If they dont like it then they are someone I cannot call friend…Celebrate life everyday…live each day as if no tomorrow! I was always told to use those fancy drinking glasses everyday for a glass of water or juice etc…instead of saving them for a special day…and whats more special than today! Be silly Be whatever it is that makes you you! And you my darlin are one inspirational gal ! You motivate people and get them excited about art…Your one amazing person that has put me in awe at the things you accomplish! loves ya my friend!

  5. Thank you Chriysti for the beautiful and insightful post. Your words move me to ponder the complications of truly being oneself. I hope you are having a great day.

  6. Your post was inspirational to read…beautifully said…

  7. Thanks so much y’all.. It was genuine.

    I was always drawn to him, as my mother raised me with a passion for animals.. i loved the attitude he had about them..and life in general.

    Thanks for stopping by!

  8. Lovely post! Well spoken and indeed has driven me to think more about the direction and passion I would like to put into my life more! Thanks Chrysti!

  9. A beautiful post and its really made me sit up and think about living my true life and being me and not the person others want me to be.
    Very inspiring….your words and art.

  10. Beautiful post, he was an amazing person and it’s so tragic he is no longer here. He has done so much not only for us here in Australia but the world too.

Leave a Reply

