Part 1 : 100 1″ Collage Squares

“Art does not reproduce the visible; it makes things visible.”
~ Paul Klee

Ever sign up for a swap, only to initially look it over..
and wonder
what exactly you were thinking?
You dreadfully start working on it..
expecting to find it tedious..
 can’t wait for it to end..
only to find that
..

Surprise!! You LOVE it!

The creating process begins..
and before you know it, hours have passed..
and your inner inspiration genie has received a new life!

Well, that’s exactly what this swap has done to me.. once I saw just how tiny 1″ was.. I groaned, that is, until I began creating these darling pieces .. an addiction has been born! I’ve always love miniature anything, these are no exception.

“An inch in a man’s nose is much.”
~H. G. Bohn

Here’s the scoop .. the swap is through Altered Art Obsession .. hosted by the ingenious TisJewel.. to create 100 ( yes, 100) Original, one of a kind .. 1″ by 1″ collaged squares.. they must be mixed media, each must contain one picture, and at least one word.. Whatcha think about that? Once she swaps ’em out, we will receive 100 squares back, and complete it by creating an accordion book, a 10″ x 10″ piece..or any other creative way to use them, keeping them all in tact and together.

“Art means to dare—and to have been right.”
~ Ned Rorem

All of mine were created on 140lb watercolor paper, with hand painted backgrounds and have inked edges (as i’ve said many a time before a must for a finished look!).. I have all 100 cut, all contain images .. and now I’m in the process of adding embellishments, whimsical hand drawn elements, text, shadows and more.. I’m actually finishing these early for once – as I want them done before my upcoming surgery.

“No matter how substandard you feel your skill or talent may be, If you never produce your art, the world will always remain deprived of it.”
~ Derek R. Audette

Here’s a sneak peek at the first 20 I have completed .. I’ll continue sharing them in batches, as I complete them..

 100 1

So whatcha think? I’d love to hear your thoughts on them! I’m also open to suggestions, on how to arrange them once I receive them!

-Chrysti

46 Responses

  1. This is a fantastic idea!

    Is this something anyone can get involved in?

    Neath

  2. these are gorgeous!! love them!!

  3. Chrysti these are wonderful! I’m in this swap and cannot wait to see which ones of yours I get back!!

    Jennifer

  4. Ohhhhh, I adore each and every one!

    You could put them in a tiny tin. i.e. from a package of Starbucks mints or something like that. I have one that might do the trick and would be happy to give it to you. Let me know!

  5. Ack. I just reread your post. The tin wouldn’t fit 100 pieces. Hmpf. Back to the drawing board!

  6. OMG! These are absolutely Yummy Chrysti!!!! Way to go!!!

    xoxs
    C

  7. I love these and I want to play—how do I sign up???

    Shari Schneider
    http://creativechatter.blogspot.com/

  8. Fabulous!

  9. IsS there still room in this swap – I would LOVE to join. If tisjewel is Julie O – then I even know her :)

  10. Oh Boy! These are super Chrysti! I’m in the swap also. Finished except for signing the backs of all 100 little squares. :D

  11. Just beautiful! I love them – how do I join the swap?

  12. Wow! Chrysti. This is wonderful. I will definitely have to try this and see what I come up with. Excellent Idea.

  13. These are terrific. I must try some of my own to see what I can do.

  14. Oh these are gorgeous. I see a new obsession coming on. LOL One of my favorite ways to see small square works of art displayed is as a large work of art; a mosaic! That was my first thought when I started reading this post. :) Oh I love them and now I just have to try it.

  15. Wow how fun! These are all so fabulous! I have seen someone do these and wonder how in the world you keep from going cross eyed after doing these lol That would be a major challenge for me to work that small…I have a difficult time working with just atc size lol….is it easier than it looks? I will check out the site! It does look like fun!

  16. I love them…I’m drooling over the colors and depth of texture!
    Great work!

  17. oh my gosh! I feel exactly the same as you. I’ve only gotten about 22 done so far. It’s tedious but addicting!! come by my blog and see the five I posted. I didn’t want to put up too many but now that you have maybe i will. hee-hee. By the way…I love, love the one with the ruler tongue sticking out. hope I get that one!!

    your new aao friend

  18. VERY cool!! I LOVE what you have done with these!! This sounds like an incredible swap…what fun!

  19. Hey! Those are gorgeous! :) Great job!

  20. Wow.. what a HUGE redponse to this! Thanks SO much for your encouragement, i finished another batch last night, and will upload them after i get some other stuff caught up!

    As for all your questions —

    I think I may host a swap similar to this, through my blog.. it’ll be at least a few days, while i set up an info page, and sign- ups..

    For those interested in the AAO group — I have it linked in my entry, follow that, and find where it has info to join.. and follow as directed :-)It’s a fabulous group!

    Andrea — I Had thought of a tin, but folding an accordion book into it..so it popped out when you opened it :-) I’ve also been pondering some sort of mobile.. or a mosaic arrangement on canvas… so many ideas..

    I think thats’ it.. did i miss someoen’s question?

  21. Nanc — it’s not easy, but it’s fun.. It’s not as hard as i thought it’d be either, i actually find it easier to do a bunch at once, then one at a time.. i did it in steps.. I’ll elaborate ont he next batch i post!

  22. Whoo hoo, wow, I didn’t expect that this project would take so much notice! Awesome job Chrysti!

    For anyone who wants to join AAO, when you go to the yahoo group home page and request to join, you’ll get a questionnaire (it looks daunting, but don’t let it scare you – if you don’t get it let me know). Send that along with artwork examples (if attachments you’ll need to send to me directly as yahoo will delete them), then the review process takes about 1-7 days (on average about 2-3).

    As you can see we do alot of fun stuff!

    – Julie

  23. I adore these little jewels! They are so rich in color!
    You were gone for so long….I’m very glad you are back into the swing!
    oxox

  24. Chrysti – these are absolutely beautiful! Love all the color and can’t believe all the additions you were able squeeze onto these little squares….and without making them look the tiniest bit squeezed! (NOW I know how I should have done those little guys when I was in a MUCH smaller swap!!)
    Hugs,
    Margie

  25. How FUN Chrysti. I must admit when I read your post I thought…what can you do with 1 inch? WOW you made amazing ART in one inch!! THEY ARE FANTASTIC!

  26. […] Yippee! Another batch of 20 1" collage squares are complete.. Missed This? Read about it here.. […]

  27. Chrysti, these are wonderful . I hope if you do host a swap here that you post it on bmuse so we can join in.

  28. […] Well to get your first idea of what these are look at this post. […]

  29. great…now look what you’ve done…I really need to do laundry but alas I must now go create tiny collage squares! lol!! I think these are wonderful!!

  30. Absolutely stunning!

  31. These are so cool. After I saw your I had to go home and make a bunch. I’ve done at least 50 and am still going strong. Just posted some on my blog. Thank you for sharing these, Chrysti. -Kim

  32. OMG these are just amazing! You have really inspired me. The smaller the space the better, I find it diffiuclt to fill up space. I’ll have to give these a try.

  33. Absolutely stunning and inspiring!! I will be joining the AAO Group!! Thanks for sharing!! I look forward to seeing more!

  34. I want to play, can’t wait for you to post the swap. Where and when will I find it?? I have trouble cutting with the shape my hands are in, anyone know where to buy the 1 inch squares precut???
    Let me know
    Love and Hugs
    Vic

  35. […] For those of you who hadn’t seen, or read about this project yet… check out my prior posts on it first.. Part 1 : 100 1″ Collage Squares Part 2 : 100 1″ Collage Squares w/ Tutorial! […]

  36. The are is great alot of ideas thankyou
    for shareing with us and do you post
    others art as well??

    Mary R

  37. […] I don’t remember how I stumbled across this second link (probably the mixed media forum at WetCanvas, but who knows?), but it’s an art blog post about a really interesting idea: 1″ square collages.  Granted, it would probably be a dangerous undertaking for me, given my historic inability to fill an entire sheet of paper with a drawing, but what can I say?  I really like working small. […]

  38. What a fabulous idea, Christi!! I love the art you make!

  39. […] on something creative. So I decided to try making these mini collages squares a la the infamous Chrysti. I cut 100 squares (what was I thinking?) to start, and now I have a stack of about 90 […]

  40. Fabulous and thanks for the links ~ just saw some more amazing art, xxJx

  41. splendide!!! magnifique!!!!
    je me lance moi aussi dans l’aventure de l’art square!
    merci de nous faire partager toutes ces beautés.
    bises.
    bonbon ou le scrapacidulé.

  42. Fantastic!

  43. Hi there, this weekend is good in support of me, because this point in time i am
    reading this impressive informative paragraph here at
    my house.

  44. My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find most of your post’s to be exactly what I’m looking
    for. Would you offer guest writers to write
    content available for you? I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on a few of the subjects you write regarding here. Again, awesome website!

  45. Hello! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with SEO?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good gains.
    If you know of any please share. Thank you!

  46. Have you ever thought about creating an e-book or guest authoring on other blogs?
    I have a blog based on the same ideas you discuss and would
    love to have you share some stories/information. I know my viewers would appreciate your work.
    If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me
    an e-mail.

Leave a Reply

