Speaking Through Silence & My Newest Piece…

Music of the Soul

“Music of the Soul”
An Original, One of a Kind, Mixed Media Painting & Assemblage w/Beeswax
by Raleigh, NC Outsider Artist ~ Chrysti ~

Size: 6″ x 6″ x 3/4″ D
Created On: Gallery Wrapped Canvas; Ready to Hang!
For Sale Here

I completed this piece in April ’07 — all but one part, the caption. Last week, as I sat down.. the words just began to form…

“Through silence you speak the music of your soul”

I smiled to myself, as I realized that is slowly becoming my own, personal mantra.

The last few months, have not only been extremely productive, but also very challenging for me. I have come face to face with myself, over & over again… both my strengths, and my weaknesses have been practically shoved in front of me as I have spent large amounts of time alone, in isolation — simply trying to get caught up, and establish new routines. More time to myself means more silence, and more time to over contemplate every aspect of my life. Too much time in fact. For someone with bipolar disorder, this can often be a one way, fast track into extreme depression.

What I initially found frightening — that face to face time with myself, has since turned into an enlightening experience, as I find myself embracing my own, personal evolution. I am learning to trust in my own instincts, to trust a bit more in myself and a bit less in what other people think.. to not only trust but to seek that inner silence, that we all tend to push aside. A process I am beginning to find comforting, and not at all scary. See, we really do have a purpose for every part of our life — even if we can’t recognize it at the time.

Blocking out all that external ‘noise’, has truly brought clarity to me, and a newfound strength that is manifesting itself through my art, my photography, my accomplishments, and most importantly in who I am, and who I want to become. A lifelong, never ending process for all of us.

Music of the Soul - Close-Up

For Sale Here

“Silence tells the seeker in us to love, to love himself.
It tells us it is wrong to hate ourselves because of our imperfections.
When the seeker loves himself, loves the Divine within himself,
he eventually realists the Ultimate Truth.”

So go on, take a few silent moments for yourself today… you never know what you may discover, if you just give it a chance.

-Chrysti

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

19 Responses

  1. It’s a great piece, Chrysti. I love the texture, the colours, and the depth.

    I’ve been getting in touch with my inner silence too these past few months. It’s been daunting, but like you, I thought that it was extremely worthwhile.

  2. A beautiful work of Art, Chrysti.

    When my mother died I was extremely depressed and it’s taken me a long time to get over it. Along the way I found out I was stronger than I ever thought I could be. Like you, it was a profound discovery to let the silences guide me to solutions and strengths I can use in all parts of my life. There comes a time for each of us, I think, when we discover and learn to appreciate our nature is more complex and rewarding than we thought.

  3. wonderful!

  4. Beautiful art and post Chrysti! xo

  5. Chrysti, your work is stunning! And thank you for this post.

  6. Chrysti……Your art piece “Music of the Soul” is just wonderful…the background is so very intriguing I must admit,it was overwhelming to me. There are times that when I see such beauty I am spellbound.
    I must also comment on your writing….that also is very exciting and touching to me…as you know I get very impressed with words…..your words were akin to the title of your painting: it is no wonder to me that your Art is so alluring, appealing and attractive to so many.

    Thank you

  7. Oh Chrysti this new piece of yours is so wonderful!!! I have been seeking that inner silence and only sometimes get there. But when I do, I have learned so much about myself…especially through my art. I hope you continue on this path of self discovery…it has done amazing things for your art (which was pretty amazing already).

    Oh and btw….I featured one of your original pieces in the Etsy treasury I just snagged. I hope it brings lots of new eyes to your art. :)

    http://www.etsy.com/treasury_list.php?room_id=2034

  8. your piece is very lovely…

  9. Chrysti,

    I just went through all 103 pages of your ebsquart website. It was interesting to see your progress from 2005 to the present. Congratulations on beautiful progress in the journey!

    Best regards,

    Beth Wheeler

  10. This is lovely…love it!!!

  11. Very well put, Chrysti! I hope you’ve been doing some journaling during this time to save those moments of revelation for times you may need to be reminded of those insights. One of my graduate research areas was in depression so I really appreciate what you are saying. Additionally, years after grad school, I developed chronic depression. Turns out unipolar depression (most simply say depression) runs in the family on my mother’s side; there are 7 of us at present count. I still try to keep up with the literature to some extent and can tell you that more and more value is being placed on the positive effects of art as therapy &, since some don’t consider it an art but something else, writing as well has been proven to have therapeutic value. So just by doing things you love, you are doing something good for you. Taking time for oneself to relax and reflect is so very important!

    I wonder if you’ve read Thomas Moore’s Dark Nights Of The Soul? He postulates that there are times that depression has lessons to teach us. While I believe to some extent that’s true & that depression can be a sort of spiritual crisis, the scientist in me argues back that it’s not true in all cases. Some of us have an illness caused by lack of or over production of neurotransmitters in the brain. In those instances, you have to look at the whole mind/body connection (& I’d expnad that to mind/body/spirit). It’s a complex mystery that probably won’t be solved in our lifetime.

    Sorry – getting into lecture mode and away from where I wanted to go. I applaud you for venturing deeper into the inner territoty of self and for expressing it so beautifully.

  12. Incredible insight as well as art,Incredible strength and determination.I am really excited for you and the inner discovery.Godspeed,sister.

  13. This is such a wonderful piece and I apprecaite your words very much. They have touched me deeply and I think you are very brave to get to where you are especially when you have bipolar disorder. It seems that you are experiencing a spiritual breakthrough! I am so happy for you. I am scared of being too much alone and I appreciate your bravery.

  14. Hi. My name is Lara Berch. I have just launched a new website with step by step art tutorials. I was wondering if it’s possible to exchange links with you. http://www.laraberch.com
    Thank you very much for your time.
    Sincerely
    Lara

  15. i as well suffer from bipolar. i can totally relate. your last piece posted is wonderful. it is really hard to find a balance when dealing with disorder. it always helps to know you are not alone.

  16. This piece also reminds me of one of my favorite phrases from one of those (usually annoying) daily meditation books — “In silence comes God’s meaning to the heart.” Thanks for reminding me of that.

  17. awesome….thought provoking.

  18. Beautiful work, absolutely stunning, I love it.

  19. its stunningly beautiful. loved it.

    i posted your art with credit in one of my post. you will find it here,
    http://mysticsaint.blogspot.com

    peace.

Leave a Reply

