Art Mishaps 101 or…

Dream

“Dream”
6″ x 12″ Mixed Media On Canvas
by Raleigh, NC Outsider Artist ~Chrysti~
For sale here or at etsy, but you’d pay more there…

perhaps this post would better be called… why Chrysti is a big ol’ dolt.

With so many new canvas’s to post (and more to come), a big distaste for posting here just to sell, and too much on my plate to devote to a lengthy blog entry… I have decided to share with you some art mishaps that have happened upon me in the last few weeks. I swear – I have been all out of sorts. Like way out of sorts. I’m not sure a bigger airhead can be found!

Life's Deepest Joy

“Life’s Deepest Joy”
6″ x 6″ Mixed Media On Canvas
by Raleigh, NC Outsider Artist ~Chrysti~
For sale here or at etsy, but you’d pay more there…

Lesson #1: When watching tv and creating paper scrap quilts, pay more attention when applying lip balm, as glue sticks have an eerily similar shape. Thank Heavens for the whole nontoxic thing.

Lesson #2: When feverishly working on backgrounds in front of the tv (are we sensing a theme here?) with a quart of matte medium open right next to your Venti Iced Mocha… resist the urge to unwrap your straw and push it in without looking. You just may find that the straw ends up in your matte medium instead.

Lesson #3: Since we’re already on the Starbucks addiction – when in your studio, and singing at the top of your lungs while applying gobs of gel medium to a piece… be careful not to rest the brush inadvertently against your Venti Cinnamon Dolce Latte lid, as when you next to go to take a sip you may get an unpleasant surprise vs. the cinnamony goodness you expected.

Lesson #4: Mason Jar full of dirty paint brush remained water next to your glass of water… yeah, not such a good idea. It was bound to happen sooner or later.

Full of Love

“Full of Love”
6″ x 6″ Mixed Media On Canvas
by Raleigh, NC Outsider Artist ~Chrysti~
For sale here or at etsy, but you’d pay more there…

Lesson #5: Gloves really may be a good idea when working with inks and dyes. Nothing is more festive then bright red hands though!

Lesson #6: If you decide to be girly, and take the time to do your nails.. don’t hop right up into your studio and paint. It’ll all need to be redone.

Lesson #7: Needles go through fabric, not skin.

Lesson #8: There really is a reason why you are warned about toxic fumes in closed surfaces. Nail Polish Marbling, indoors… is NOT an odor you want in your house, or head. Granted, that happened awhile back…but I am still recovering!

Go With Your Heart

“Go With Your Heart”
6″ x 6″ Mixed Media On Canvas
by Raleigh, NC Outsider Artist ~Chrysti~
For sale here or at etsy, but you’d pay more there…

I’m sure I am forgetting a few… but ya get the idea. So can you prove me wrong — Or am I truly the biggest ditz out there these days? Have your own ‘mishaps’ to share? Blog them and let me know in the comments, or just leave a comment with your own silly blunders! Art airheads UNITE!

Chrysti

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

23 Responses

  1. Loved your lessons! They all made me smile!

  2. Your lessons made me smile. I’ve had similar mishaps. I am glad I am not a painter or I could end up in big trouble drinking solvents.

  3. Look at it this way Chrysti: if you weren’t the sort of person to whom these mishaps regularly occur, neither perhaps would you be the person who can create such a wealth of brilliance and imagination for us all to enjoy. However, it would also be great for us all if you take good care of yourself, so you are not laid up poisoned, and we, your audience, aren’t left without our daily ration of your wonderful work.

  4. I finished a piece I put about 20 hours into – a tribute to an Alzheimer’s patient. I needed to spray it with a protective coating before it was handled and people were coming over. I grabbed the spray can, which was right by the back door, and the canvas and went out to spray it. I finished the whole thing, glanced at the canvas and thought it looked kind of fuzzy. That’s when I remembered that I stuck the spray on adhesive can right beside the varnish the night before. Spraying a coat of varnish on top of the adhesive worked pretty well, but the whole piece looks a little less crisp than it is supposed to.

  5. Another word, if you permit. What I wanted to say is – I think your head is just brim-full with what you are doing, your mind is awhirl with ideas, and you just don’t have any leftover processing power to figure which is the clean water, which the dirty; which the latte, which the gel. These are not symptoms of a ditz, they are the clear and common hallmarks of genius.

  6. Good lord woman–sounds like you’ve got a gazillion things going on at once–be careful in that studio!!!

    mwah!

  7. Boy have I been there — I had to give up manicures altogether. I couldn’t stop myself from going into the studio right from the nail salon….unless of course my nails were stained by India Ink…thanks for the smiles, Chrysti!

  8. My Lesson,hard learned…When,in the middle of the night you can’t sleep,open the paint can lid and give it a peek,give it a sniff or two,eyeball the label or you may end up like me-Unstable…with oil paint in hand,stands I,in my tiny tiny bathroom…with giggles and lots of dribbles,I had to come down off the ladder to find out what was the matter…Oil -Paint is an exterior paint(outdoor)and is highly intoxicating if used in unvenltilated areas…Poor Chrysti,I,too don’t think I’ve recovered!That was three years ago-I think I may have you beat,but without those other brain cells Who can tell…

  9. Yup, I recognise a few of those issues. In particular the one about dirty paint water and a glass of water. In my case it was tea and it happened more than once. Doh!

  10. The extra huge, sharp scissors DO NOT go into a plastic food bag to be carted around so that when getting out of the car, the bag swings, hits the door, flies back and your leg is impaled on the end of the shears! Although, 3 stitches later, the doctor says most people he stitches up from scissor accidents have sat on them.

  11. Great pictures!

  12. Your mishaps are easily done, my newest der moment was cutting out diligently wings for a pw image i was working on, and then completing the piece without putting them on the pw girl and only realising after I had posted them of to the States….I feel really stupid….

  13. Ah yes, I’ve done these things … at least the straw went into the gel medium from the coffee and not the other way round!

  14. here’s one very painful lesson i learned. NEVER EVER leave a bundle of x-acto knives without protective covers, placed in a cup with the blades up and the cup left on top of a bean bag while you’re watching saturday night boxing prize fights.

    i ended up looking like “stick the x-acto knife up the donkey’s butt” when my behind was being stitched in a nearby emergency room. it was a good thing i won my bet on the boxing match or else my butt suffered for nothing.

  15. Oh Chrysti! I laughed out loud when I read this – I have SO done these things (or similar things). The paintbrush in the beverage far, far too many times to count (what is it about this lesson that I can’t seem to learn?).

    Hope your holidays were happy ones-
    Laurie

  16. Yes, I’ve done this too..in fact it seems to be a regular thing with me now I’ve passed my sell-by date (over 50-JUST!!). I was painting, with acrylics-and ‘swished’ my brush around in the water jar, only to find that it wasn’t! Now my mug of tea is kind of red and I don’t think I should drink it!!

  17. These are so lovely! I am very inspired! Thanks so much for sharing!! Roben-Marie :)

  18. HAHA! I’ve learned those lessons as well.
    (have sipped the water I clean my brushes in and have stained my hands with all sorts of stuff too)

    found you by accident, so glad I did.
    (gonna add you as a link to my blog, so I can find you again. if that is okay.)

  19. Wow! I love the backgrounds on these! Your work is phenomenal! I’m so glad I came across your blog today!!!

  20. Wonderful lessons, wonderful post, uber wonderful art and how could I not find this all so enchanting…you drink my fav cafe from Starbucks (I am addicted to cinnamon dolce latte and I will take your warning to heart — and keep my brush with gel medium AWAY from the Venti!!). I found you on Bella’s Creative Souls ning site where I belong…glad I had a look!!

  21. […] I spoke last year about just a few of the art mishaps I have had. Could you share some of yours? The more embarrassing the better!   […]

  22. Hi!. Thanks a bunch for the info. I’ve been digging around looking some info up for shool, but there is so much out there. Yahoo lead me here – good for you i suppose! Keep up the great information. I will be coming back over here in a couple of days to see if there is any more info.

  23. love your go with your heart art! added it to my flickr favs!

Leave a Reply

