A lil’ Dose of Inspiration – Words to Live By

“Go placidly amid the noise and the haste,
and remember what peace there may be in silence.
As far as possible without surrender,
be on good terms with all persons.
Speak your truth quietly and clearly;
and listen to others, even to the dull and ignorant;
they too have their story.

Measuring Up

Avoid loud and aggressive persons;
they are vexations to the spirit.
If you compare yourself with others,
you may become vain or bitter;
for always there will be greater
and lesser persons than yourself.

Published in Life Images!

Enjoy your achievements as well as your plans.
Keep interested in your own career, however humble;
it is a real possession in the changing fortunes of time.

Exercise caution in your business affairs;
for the world is full of trickery.
But let not this not blind you to what virtue there is;
many persons strive for high ideals;
and everywhere life is full of heroism.

Be yourself.

Especially, do not feign affection.
Neither be cynical about love;
for in the face of all aridity and disenchantment
it is as perennial as the grass.

Take kindly the counsel of the years,
gracefully surrendering the things of youth.
Nurture strength of spirit to shield you in sudden misfortune.
But do not distress yourself with dark imaginings.
Many fears are born of fatigue and loneliness.
Beyond a wholesome discipline,
be gentle with yourself.

You are a child of the universe,
no less than the trees and the stars;
you have a right to be here.
And whether or not it is clear to you,
no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should.
Therefore be at peace with God,
whatever you conceive Him to be.

And whatever your labors and aspirations,
in the noisy confusion of life, keep peace with your soul.
With all its sham, drudgery and broken dreams,
it is still a beautiful world.

Be cheerful.
Strive to be happy.”
– Desiderata – by Max Ehrmann

Have your own favorite words of wisdom? Please share them in the comments!

Hoping you find your own happiness, streangth, and peace today …
– Chrysti

10 Responses

  1. Such a fantastic and beautiful entry, Chrysti! Very inspiring and uplifting, thank you for sharing!

    Here are 3 quotes I like to remind myself of frequently…

    Don’t let anyone rob you of your imagination, your creativity, or your curiosity. It’s your place in the world; it’s your life. Go on and do all you can with it, and make it the life you want to live. —Mae Jemison

    “To live a creative life, we must lose our fear of being wrong.” —Joseph Chilton Pearce

    “If you hear a voice within you say ‘you cannot paint,’ then by all means paint and that voice will be silenced.” —Vincent Van Gogh

  2. Very inspiring indeed, Chrysti!

    Here’s one of my faves:

    “Worry and fear are not tickets on the express train…they are extra baggage. You were going that way, anyway”.

  3. This is beautiful, Chrysti. You’ve done a lovely job of adding it to your blog. I’ve added your blog to my list and am looking forward to stopping by here often.

  4. I love Desiderata! Thank you for reminding me of it…Ono of my favorite quotes for inspiration ” If I am out of place for being real and must pretend for you and your kind, then give me a costume that resembles me and let me pretend to be myself”- unknown. I saw it on a t-shirt of a Philadelphia 76er YEARS ago and never forgot it!

  5. “Three passions have governed my life:
    The longings for love, the search for knowledge,
    And unbearable pity for the suffering of [humankind].
    Love brings ecstasy and relieves loneliness.
    In the union of love I have seen
    In a mystic miniature the prefiguring vision
    Of the heavens that saints and poets have imagined.
    With equal passion I have sought knowledge.
    I have wished to understand the hearts of [people].
    I have wished to know why the stars shine.
    Love and knowledge led upwards to the heavens,
    But always pity brought me back to earth;
    Cries of pain reverberated in my heart
    Of children in famine, of victims tortured
    And of old people left helpless.
    I long to alleviate the evil, but I cannot,
    And I too suffer.
    This has been my life; I found it worth living.”
    ~Bertrand Russell~

    Thank you Chrysti for the beautiful and meaningful words and your beautiful photos. I needed to read this today and you were there for me.
    Hugs
    Bernie

  6. Here are some words we live by:

    Creativity can solve almost any problem. The creative act, the defeat of habit by originality, overcomes everything.
    -George Lois

    To honor your creativity and originality, we have an award for you! Please stop by Amusing Muses for the details and to pick up your award.

    Love,
    Alberta and Ava

  7. Such beautiful images and such true words!

  8. You just did mine–the Desiderata was read at our commencement speech and I was struck deep to my roots by it! Lovely post.
    Smiles, Karen

  9. Thank you so much Chrysti for this amazing post… it is beautiful and inspirational…

    My most favorite quote EVER is this one by Stephen King…

    “Talent is cheaper than table salt. What separates the talented individual from the successful one is a lot of hard work.”

    I have to say… this is ringing true with me more and more everyday lately. Everytime I think I can’t do this, it is too much work. Everytime I feel sorry for myself for having to bust my… you know what… so hard… I always come back to this quote… Because we all know that talent is everywhere… to stand out we really have to work our hearts out… literally.

    I also love this one… I believe that people who are truly good are good because it is the right thing to be, not because they are afraid.

    “If people are good only because they fear punishment, and hope for a reward, then we are a sorry lot indeed.” –

    Albert Einstein

    I have both of these quotes posted on my old blogspot blog… they didn’t make it over to typepad. I think I should add them.

    Thanks again Chrysti for this post,

    Brandie

  10. […] – bookmarked by 6 members originally found by sanguine88 on 2008-11-10 A lil’ Dose of Inspiration – Words to Live By https://chrysti.wordpress.com/2008/07/10/a-lil-dose-of-inspiration-words-to-live-by/ – bookmarked […]

Leave a Reply

