Plant A Hope

:: plant a hope ::

'Plant a Hope' © Christy Hydeck

 Taken at Hains Point, Washington DC  – Cherry Blossom Festival 2008

“He who plants a tree
Plants a hope.”

~Lucy Larcom

Perhaps, the most enriching thing about creating with my lens is the hope I find in the simplest of places. I find the hope of a future in a child’s smile. I find the hope of a dream present in young love. I find the hope of delight watching birds frolic. I find the hope of days without darkness within nature’s glorious light.

I wonder what hopes will be witnessed by this vibrant, young tree. As its roots strengthen over the years, what childhood games shall be played beneath its branches? What shelter will it so gracefully provide for a lonely soul? Who will be inspired by its blossoms? It is amazing how many lives will be touched and eternally connected by just one, small tree.

It offers endless possibilities. It offers endless hope.

Tell me, what is your hope?

Chrysti
(who hopes a few more want to take me up on my practically free  yarn/fiber deal)

One Response

  1. Planting a tree is one of the best things we can do for our planet and for our souls. There are many places online where we can arrange for planting of trees and receive personalized paperwork. Wonderful gifts for graduations, birthdays, bar mitzvahs — the list goes on. I think it’s one of the nicest gifts we can give someone – a gift of hope that will continue for generations. Lovely post, Chrysti.

Leave a Reply

