Stand Still

listen
print available here

Stand still.
The trees ahead and bushes beside you
Are not lost. Wherever you are is called Here,
And you must treat it as a powerful stranger,
Must ask permission to know it and be known.
The forest breathes. Listen. It answers,
I have made this place around you.
If you leave it, you may come back again, saying Here.
No two trees are the same to Raven.
No two branches are the same to Wren.
If what a tree or a bush does is lost on you,
You are surely lost. Stand still. The forest knows
Where you are. You must let it find you.

-David Wagoner

That? Is one of my favorite poems – it is as if it speaks directly to my heart.

Sorry to be so brief, my dad is in town visiting – and my computer time is minimal … what are your plans for this weekend? How do you intend to honor your creative side amidst the rush?

Chrysti

5 Responses

  1. Beautiful! This weekend we might go on a drive to a pumpkin patch or an auction. The camera will travel with me. I try to always carry the camera with me when we go anywhere just in case there is a photo opportunity. :) Have fun with your dad!

  2. This weekend I will paint!!!! Get paintings ready to ship and then paint some more……probably breakdown and have a nice glass of wine.

    I got my packet of papers. OMG this was quite the packet !!! Thanks

  3. Lovely poem and photo! This weekend? I’m working on a little journal that accompanies the current collaberation art doll I’m working on.

  4. What a beautiful poem – thanks for sharing it, and the image of the print too. It’s darkly beautiful and mysterious.

  5. Thank you so very much y’all — It has been a crazy week with my dad visiting and now playing catch up- i feel badly I haven’t had the time to respond individually! Pleae know, your responses mean the world to me. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

