{Echo} Week 7- Whisper

“The woods are never solitary–they are full of whispering, beckoning, friendly life. But the sea is a mighty soul, forever moaning of some great, unshareable sorrow, which shuts it up into itself for all eternity.” -Lucy Maud Montgomery

For as far back as I can remember, trees have been among the greatest of my friends. They entertained me as a child as they whispered these amazing and imaginative,  positively delightful stories….  the rustling of their glorious leaves revealed the wisdom of all who came before me. The branches delighted in whispering  the juicy secrets of those who climbed them..  trying to reach for a piece of the heavens. The light danced, the shadows played, the air filled with laughter… it was so very magical. I both sought and found my refuge within the woodlands. To this very day every forest I encounter summons me with its oh-so-damn-powerful whisper.

There is no place my soul feels more at home.

“All of nature begins to whisper its secrets to us through its sounds. Sounds that were previously incomprehensible to our soul now become the meaningful language of nature.” -Rudolf Steiner

Tall grasses often leave me breathless; especially as the evening sun ushers in. The blades sway ever-so-perfectly, as if there is a song being sung….  just for them. The setting sun casts its golden glint upon the blades… and instantly an entire field is aglow.  Everything seems to hush around me….

s i l e n c e d.

The evening breeze often produces a mumbled whisper.. a whisper that has always spoken to me as secrets. I used to revel in what secrets they were sharing… s i g h…  how i miss the power of my childhood imagination.

Now, as I age… I like to believe they are the whispers of a day gone by and the promises of a tomorrow.

Time’s Whisper

The voices of the ocean
course silently with the wind,
rising to rain
before the flood
that sweeps away mountains,
moistening leveled ground
with the kiss of life.
The voices of the ocean of humanity
course through the stream of time,
rising to rain
before the flood
that grinds down mountains,
and sweeps clean the sands of time
with the tides of history.
Listen deeply into the wind,
do you hear?
There is prophesy of a new pulse,
a new heartbeat, yet unborn,
timeless,
within you.
Listen.

11 April 2003
Manuel García, Jr.

I look forward to seeing what you in have store for Week 7 of Echo– Whisper. Susan & I invite each of you to participate in the project and show us your unique vision, your voice, your echo. Remember, to share your link in the comments here so I can add it to the roundup next Wednesday.

  • Go visit Susan’s Week 7 post for our other diptych. (which for the record, is my favorite one yet…)
  • Our Flickr Group for the collab. ~ Join Us! Find a partner there, read the guidelines and more!
  • Add the new Echo button (susan’s awesome design) to your blog if you’d like! Get the code here.

Chrysti

21 Responses

  1. Wonderful images–fitting as trees thin tall trees are my view right now.

  2. I love this post. I photographed trees today to study and draw. They are so soulful.

  3. such a fitting title.
    Excellent photos

  4. both of yours are so beautiful! — i know exactly what you mean about the whispers of the woods. The field photo gives a stunning golden glow — makes me want to run right through it:)
    xo

  5. Your post and beautiful tree photo reminded me of woods in Cumbria behind the farm cottage where I spent holidays as a child. As you described a magical and enchanted place for a child to play and explore in. Full of beautiful colours and patterns. Thanks for reminding me of this memory.

  6. Ok…so HOW does one join the challenge???

  7. I like the first photograph very much. :)

  8. I would love to be in the centre of that field of grasses, lying flat on my back, looking up at a clear blue sky…no sound but the soft rustle of the grass. Ahhhhhhhh.

  9. Simply stunning, and oh so soothing… that calming hush…

  10. Beautiful photos. Beautiful words. Beautiful prompt….as always Chrysti. Mine is up:
    http://rosa-josies.blogspot.com/2010/02/echo-week-7-whisper.html
    xoxox

  11. Hi Chrysti – love this set of whisper images too (i.e. as well as the other set ) you ladies are so creative and inspirational.

    Thanks for the opportunity. I’ve loaded by contribution, but going forward these will be under my photoblog Thinking Aloud as opposed to Vintage Rose Studio (which is really where they should have been from the start I guess!)
    thank again
    Gena @ Thinking Aloud
    Link: http://tobethinkingaloud.blogspot.com/2010/02/echo-7-whisper.html

  12. Okay posted by comment and link, but don’t see it here, so not sure if it saved…..
    Love your interpretion of whisper – you ladies are so creative and inspirational!
    My post is now under my photoblog Thinking Aloud as opposed to Vintage Rose Studio.
    thanks again!
    Gena @ thinking aloud
    a photoblog
    http://tobethinkingaloud.blogspot.com/2010/02/echo-7-whisper.html

  13. I`m not a good photographer myself, but I love your wonderful photos. And I will be a follower of your blog.

  14. Love this prompt…
    Here’s my interpretation this week, Shona on the left and mine right.
    http://www.blu-bambu.com/2010/02/09/february-10-whisper/

  15. Hi Ladies – great work as always…. thanks so much for the great inspiration.
    My post is up (tried linking in earlier today, but no joy!)
    I have posted this prompt under my photoblog rather than Vintage Rose Studio
    Gena @ Thinking Aloud

  16. […] echo time! This time the prompt is “whisper”. To be truthful, this is the hardest challenge yet. When I […]

  17. Better late than never right? Right. Been missing this a whole lot:

    http://peaceofmindstudio.blogspot.com/2010/02/echo-7-whisper.html

Leave a Reply

