{Echo} Week 1- Emerge

 Emerge 2

That photo there, it isn’t a bad one persay. ..  it just lacks.. well, something. However, it is that very photo that facilitated a ‘lightbulb moment’  for me recently.

“Out of intense complexities intense simplicities emerge.”
 ~ Winston Churchill

Introspection. It is almost an addiction for me. I suppose it comes from living with both mental & neurological  illnesses – in its own way… it has become my method of survival. Recently I find myself dwelling on the tendency I have to fold into myself.  I find myself pulling away, rather than towards people more often than I would like. I do the proverbial ‘all’ by myself. Afraid to ask for help. Unsure of when to reach out. Hesitant to deepen my connections with people.  It can be a lonely state of mind to live in .. for sure.

I foolishly hold on to some warped, misguided notion that <insert any project, business role, decision name here> will somehow be better if I do it myself. So when Susan Tuttle & I finally decided on a collaborative project to embark on it was a little milestone for me and I had no idea that within the first week, I would find it all life changing.

cah-echo-week1-emerge

 (please click to see it larger)

That photo i mentioned earlier? 

It is far better paired with Susan’s, than it is standing alone.

Perhaps …I too am stronger when connected, than alone.

“Only through art can we emerge from ourselves and know what another person sees”
 ~ Marcel Proust

I am excited for the chance to take a creative journey with Susan; to get a glimpse on how she views this miraculous world. I am hoping, that you too will join us in the project we simply call: echo. Every 2 weeks we will each post a seperate set of diptychs based on a prompt we decided on prior. The final result is not only a surprise to each of you, but to us as well. What a true delight that is for me! Be sure to take a gander over to Susan’s blog, where she shares our second diptych.

We invite you to take this journey with us .. to take our bi-weekly prompt and interpret it through your camera lens & share it on your blog (or flickr). Be sure to let one, or both of us know in the comments section that you have done it too, I will post a roundup of all the posts I am aware of in the next 2 weeks.  If you haven’t yet guessed it, the first theme is ’emerge’.  Whether you work alone, or pair up with someone we look forward to seeing the world through your eyes, your echo.

Warmly, Chrysti

Update: Week 1 Roundup is posted here… see all the creative folks joining in!

24 Responses

  1. I love your photo paired like that!

  2. i love the way our images look paired together — I was feeling like my photo lacked something and I wasn’t sure what — now i know — it needed to be paired with yours to be complete. How cool!

    xoxo

  3. Chrysti, lovely post – words and images. I came here via Susan and as I told her I would love to play along. I have invited a photographer friend to be my partner. I appreciate you opening up your project to others, I love a good art exercise.

  4. Emerge, such an apt theme. Both of your images are fabulously inspired.
    Thank you for your willingness to share so openly. You don’t know how many people you might be helping through your honesty.

  5. I love what you girls are doing, and am going to play along also. Thanks so much for the inspiration and for sharing your beautiful pictures.

  6. Christi, here is my and my friend’s first collaboration:

    http://shonastudio.blogspot.com/2009/10/emerge-1.html

  7. Hi Chrysti, I’m loving your photos. Here is my “emerge-echo” .http://bonniebluedenim.blogspot.com/2009/10/emerge.html thanks for letting us all play along.

  8. Lovely photos & words.
    Thanks for inviting us to join in this challenge. I’m really looking forward to the upcoming weeks.
    Here’s the latest diptych Shona Cole & I have collaborated on.

    http://www.blu-bambu.com/blog/

  9. already posted my entry over at Susan’s but wanted to agree about the difference the pairing makes here to result in a fabulous image. I also want to repeat my thanks for this challenge idea. I hope to participate frequently.

  10. […] Can I just say that I am so, so very happy to see y’all jumping in on the project Susan Tuttle & I dubbed ‘Echo‘ ? It does my heart good, it feels wonderful to be connecting with y’all again. Besides, it is so fascinating to see how different people, view one theme, one prompt….how we all can end up somewhere different from the same starting point. I just can’t get enough of it!  Hoping even more of you will share your views as well. If you haven’t, read all about it here. […]

  11. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by ArtByChrysti: posted to WP.com: {Echo} Week 1- Emerge http://wp.me/pPTe-cs

  12. Chrysti,
    I have posted for Emerge here:
    http://rosa-josies.blogspot.com/2009/10/week-1-emerge.html
    Enjoyed it!
    diane
    xoxox

  13. Here you go Chrysti, the other half of Diane’s and my contribution to Emerge! Thanks so much for doing this!

  14. […] Christy Hydeck’s blog for about a month or so, but for some reason I totally missed her new Echo Challenge or the poignant message that so resonated with my […]

  15. It was so much fun visiting everyone’s echo challenge! I’m a little late on the first challenge, but here it is: http://www.alyiceedrich.com/2009/10/28/echo-challenge/

  16. […] you aren’t sure how to join in, you can check out all the details here. We’d love to have you play along – life is far more interesting viewing it through […]

  17. […] to the Week 1 – emerge  roundup- be sure to stop by and visit the new entries.  Have an emerge entry to share? Let me know over there and I will add you to the list as well […]

  18. Hi Chrysti- I find this a very inspiring and insightful project, and am very happy to play along. Thanks so much for the invite! My first (two) submissions are here: http://manicmenagerie.blogspot.com/2009/11/echo-is-voice-of-reflection-in-mirror.html

  19. […] Up on Week 1 -Emerge and Week 2- […]

  20. […] Up on Week 1 -Emerge and Week 2- […]

  21. […] Up on Week 1 -Emerge , Week 2- Decorate & Week 3- […]

  22. […] I’ve come across in a long while. They call it Echo. You can read more about it here, but the gist of the project is to interpret a bi-weekly prompt through photography. As I […]

Leave a comment