TONS of Bird Art here, Sanctuary Chunky Book!

 Sanctuary Fatbook - 15

“Sanctuary, on a personal level, is where we perform the job of taking care of our soul.”
~Christopher Forrest McDowell

Note: Click the photos to see them larger, they will open in a new window. The photos don’t show all the depth these pages have, or the metallic accents and shimmer that some hold as well.

 Sanctuary Fatbook - 3

Remember last week, I told you about the Sanctuary (Anything bird related) chunky book I’m a part of? Well, if not, you can read about it here.. and see the backs of the pages I designed for it. For those curious, I ended up using all 3 versions :-)

 Sanctuary Fatbook - 4

“Intelligence without ambition is a bird without wings.”
~C. Archie Danielson

 Sanctuary Fatbook - 11

Let me just tell you, this by far.. has been one of the most enjoyable fat books I’ve worked on. I think I excel with any sort of animal theme, birds, dogs … It just hits… well… home for me, and that feeling seems to creep and find its way into my work. Gotta love that lil bit of magic! As you can imagine doing 40 some original pages can be daunting.. but I have yet to run out of inspiration.. (let’s just hope I didn’t jinx myself by saying that!).. I think the theme, is a large part of my motivation.

 Sanctuary Fatbook - 9

So many people ask me why I do all unique, original pages for these books. There are just so many reasons. I don’t truly enjoy copies — it just robs some of the experience for me .. I love texture, and depth.. and knowing someone’s hands created what I’m seeing and feeling. It’s just… more personal to have originals. Don’t get me wrong — I’ve seen some amazing copies, and they continue to inspire me.. or I wouldn’t’ sign up to play in these books… but it’s always the original pages, that really touch me. It’s a tiny little gift that I love to receive, and in turn.. I love to give it.

“It is not only fine feathers that make fine birds.”
~Aesop

 Sanctuary Fatbook - 1

The art community — all of you, have given so much to me over the years. Support. Strength. Endless Inspiration. As a result, I have grown .. both as an artist, and a person. All original pages, are one of the small ways, I try to say Thank You, and give back to this amazing community we’ve formed.

 Sanctuary Fatbook - 2

Then there’s the pesky little fact that it’s against my very nature to do the same step… over, and over.. and over… and over.. and over..  again. Blah. Adhering the backs to 40 some pages, was enough to make me wanna scream, much less assembling, and embellishing of the same 40 some pages. No Thank You! I don’t know how some of y’all do it!

 Sanctuary Fatbook - 8

“God loved the birds and invented trees. Man loved the birds and invented cages.”
~Jacques Deval

 Sanctuary Fatbook - 10

I thrive on the challenge. With each chunky book I have participated in, I assign myself an obstacle I’d like to overcome. I may want to try new techniques, or work with colors I don’t care for, try a theme that doesn’t inspire me at all, learn to work faster…without sacrificing quality.. the list goes on & on. The pages, become my own art journal of sorts.. trying to reach that goal, before all pages are complete.

 Sanctuary Fatbook - 16

 Sanctuary Fatbook - 16a

With this particular book, I’m trying to create solid pieces of art, within a set time limit.. and simple compositions. It’s difficult for me not to spend hours on one page .. you know, I’m a stickler for details. I can look at a piece, and never think it’s finished.. a gem here, shadow there.. transfer here.. color there.. it just goes on & on.. and while I think it’s a quality that I definitely benefit from.. it also becomes a hindrance. It takes me far too long to complete my works.. and holds me back from moving on to new ones. Besides, working the same way time & time again.. will never lead to growth.  I need that growth, or I am just not content. I just don’t want to sacrifice quality, for quantity.

 Sanctuary Fatbook - 12

So, tell me what you think of this first batch of pages! I still have quite a bit more to go yet, and would love to hear what y’all think of how I’ve done so far.

 Sanctuary Fatbook - 7

Let me know if you’re working on this book too.. and pass your links to me, and I’ll show it in the next update post on this swap! Additionally, let me know if you have further questions on my work.. I’ll address what I can then too :-)

 Sanctuary Fatbook - 14

 Sanctuary Fatbook - 14b

 Sanctuary Fatbook - 14a

“Use what talents you possess: the woods would be very silent if no birds sang there except those that sang best.”
~Henry Van Dyke

Now go — use your talents! I have to start getting ready to list some items, and try to transfer email onto this computer – so I can start to get caught up again!

 Sanctuary Fatbook - 13

Quick Detail Note — all pages are created on 140lb Watercolor Paper, 4″ x 4″, with mixed media, hand painted backgrounds.. Now, I can really go!

 Sanctuary Fatbook - 6

Sanctuary Fatbook - 5

Artfully yours – Chrysti

 

18 Responses

  1. You are truly unique and inspiring. I learn something from every post on your blog. These pages bring tears to my eyes… so lovely.

  2. I love your work. It is beautiful, and inspiring. I can tell you truly put your heart into all that you create.
    Well done!
    Denise

  3. Chrysti….i don’t know if i have told you lately how inspiring you and your artwork is. I just love the colors, detail, and images you use. Every single one of these pages is absolutely stunning. I could stare at them all day. I love birds as a theme and these are so beautiful, vibrant and peaceful all at the same time. Where do you find your bird images…they are so unique or do you draw and paint them yourself?

  4. Chrysti, you never cease to amaze me! Every piece is different, every one wonderful!

  5. I am in awe! Your bird pages are just incredibly beautiful. I really don’t have words but want you to know that your work inspires me to do something TODAY! Of all subjects, birds move me into a different sphere. The hummingbirds outside my window today are greedy for more nectar but I’m greedy for more Chrsyti bird pages! Whoever ends up with that book will be blessed, indeed! Thank you, thank you, thank you.
    Pat

  6. Oh! Very inspiring! Look at all these birds! Wow! Keep up the great creative roll! Hugs! Nance

  7. Chrysti, these are so breathtaking I don’t even know where to start! I love the soft blue color in many of them. They are amazing. It’s hard to move from one to the next. It’s the ultimate “gallery” blog post. I need to come back again and stare at them. They are mesmerizing! I gotta go take a look at some of the images you posted. You’ve inspired me yet again! hugs. Lia

  8. Chrysti,
    If everyones pages look this fabulous, we are going to have on kick a** book!
    I can’t wait to see them in person…they are truly one of a kind!
    Jill Beninato

  9. Chrysti,
    Your book is incredible! Each page is so wonderful to see! It is so inspiring! I love your blog!

  10. OH WOW, Chrysti!! Amazing new ART pieces ~ WOW your Bird ART is AMAZING!! Thanks so much for sharing! You’ve sure been busy!!

  11. Absolouly beautiful work..I can imagine they are stunning in person!

  12. Chrysti, these are awesome! I love how each one is different! What a great present for everyone involved in the project.

  13. This is absolutely stunning work!!!!

  14. you were a busy girl! so pretty! and the quotes are lovely. i recently started blending peacock and other feathers into my fiber for spinning into yarns. i am on a bird kick, too.

  15. WOW, I love your work. It is absolouly beautiful, I can dream while I look this pictures. I look for your site every day, it is so fabulous and inspiring.
    Hugs Anja from germany

  16. Your books are so intricate. I am addicted to bird art! I have so much of it, and I keep collecting! Thanks for the nice blog. Bird+Art lovers, unite. :)

  17. Your work is incredibly beautiful and inspiring.
    Thank you.

  18. […] appreciate any bids … and feedback on these pieces! Now back to finish my bird pieces ( 4 left to do!) , then hopefully list some more ! Happy […]

Leave a comment